ELIZABETHVILLE BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES January 2, 2024

Elizabethville Borough Council met on January 2, 2024 in the Municipal Building at 68 South Moore Street, Elizabethville. Kyle Groff, council member on behalf of Mayor Jamie Margerum (who was ill) called to order the Reorganization Meeting at 7:00 pm. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>Swearing in of New Officials</u> had been done prior to the Reorganization Meeting. Dennis Henninger, Peggy Kahler, and Marie Herb took their seats on Elizabethville Council.

Roll Call:

Roll call taken with the following present: Doug Charles, Tim Matter, Kyle Groff, Patrick Welker, Marie Herb, Peggy Kahler, and Dennis Henninger.

Attendance: Heidi Mace, Secretary; Matt Schaffner, Maintenance Supervisor, Linus Fenicle, Solicitor, and Jim Miller, Code Enforcement Officer.

Nomination and election for Council President- Kyle Groff conducted the election of Council President and Council Vice President.

<u>Council President</u>- Motion made by **Tim Matter**, seconded by **Doug Charles** to appoint Dennis Henninger as Council President. There were no other nominations. **Dennis abstained. Motion carried.**

<u>Council Vice-President</u>- Motion made by **Peggy Kahler**, seconded by **Patrick Welker** to appoint Tim Matter as Vice President of Council. There were no other nominations. **Motion** carried.

<u>Approval of Agenda Items 7 through 11</u> Meeting was turned over to Newly Elected President of Council from Kenny Strine to Dennis Henninger. Dennis asked for a motion to approve all agenda items 7 through 11 together.

7. Borough Right to Know Officer- Heidi Mace.

8. <u>Borough Solicitor-</u> Linus Fenicle, Smigel, Anderson & Sacks, PC as Borough Solicitor.

9. <u>Borough Engineer-</u> Alfred Benesch as Borough Engineer.

10. <u>Borough Sewage Enforcement Officer-</u> Brian McFeaters as Borough Sewage Enforcement Officer.

11. <u>Borough Auditor</u> – Hamilton & Musser.

K. Groff made the motion to pass Agenda items 7through 11 and T. Matter seconded it. All motions passed.

12. Resolutions A through G – Dennis Henninger asked for a motion to have all resolutions A through G pass in one motion.

A. <u>Resolution 2024-02 Chief Administrative Officer of the Non-Uniformed Pension</u> <u>Plan</u>-Chief Administrative Officer of the Non-Uniformed Pension Plan – Heidi Mace.

B. <u>Resolution 2024-03 Volunteer Emergency Management Officer</u>- Volunteer Emergency Management Coordinator - Don Shutt.

C. <u>Resolution 2024-04 Chairman vacancy Board-</u> Chairman Vacancy Board – Tim Matter.

D. <u>Resolution 2024-05 Flood Plain Administrator</u>- Flood Plain Administrator – Alfred Benesch.

E. <u>Resolution 2024-06 Tax Collector Fees</u>- Tax Collector Fees – approve fees.

F. <u>Resolution 2024-07 Fees for Pavilion Rental-</u> Fee Schedule for Park facilities – approve rental fees.

G. <u>Resolution 2024-08 Appoint Borough Secretary/Treasurer</u> – Secretary/Treasurer appointment – Heidi Mace.

P. Welker made motion to approve Resolutions A through G and **P. Kahler** seconded it with **D. Henninger** abstaining from E due to it related to a family member.

Dennis asked for a motion to approve #13 through #18 in one motion.

13. C.M. High Inc. – Traffic Light Maintenance Service.

14. Pa. State Association of Boroughs membership and Association Dues

- 15. Association of Mayors of the Borough of Pennsylvania-
- 16. Advertise regular meeting dates for 2024

17. Building Inspector Underwriters (BIU – Barry Issett & Associates.

T. Matter made the motion and P. Welker seconded it. All approvals carried #13 - #18.

Adjourn-Motion made by P. Kahler, seconded by K. Groff to adjourn the meeting at 7:18 pm. Motion carried.

Respectively submitted,

Heidi Mace Borough Secretary/Treasurer